Griffin, Cerrillos, Prevedello, qualify for NCAAs

Griffin, Cerrillos, Prevedello, qualify for NCAAs

INDIANAPOLIS — Melissa Cerrillos, Jade Griffin, and Elizabeth Prevedello will represent the University of La Verne at the 2019 NCAA Division III Outdoor Track and Field Championships the NCAA announced.

Entries and Live ResultsMeet Central | Schedule of Events | Live Video | Championship History: Men's Track and Field Women's Track and Field

The championships will be held May 23-25 at the SPIRE Institute in Geneva, Ohio. 

Griffin qualifies for the NCAA Championships for the first time in her career. The junior will race in the 200m dash where she is seeded 10th. Griffin is peaking at the right time. The Manteca native picked up three All-SCIAC awards at the 2019 SCIAC Track and Field Championships and ran a personal record in the 200m her last time on the track, clocking in at 24.66. The time ranks second all-time in La Verne history.

Cerrillos makes her second appearance at the NCAA Championships, again qualifying in the 3000m steeplechase. The two-time SCIAC Champion in the event last raced at the national meet in 2017 when she narrowly missed the finals. Cerrillos set the La Verne school record in the steeplechase at the Pomona-Pitzer Invitational earlier this season with a time of 10:54.62. The senior heads into the event seeded 14th.

Prevedello has made her mark in her first year at La Verne. The junior transfer will compete in the heptathlon where she is seeded 18th. The Oregon native broke the La Verne record in the heptathlon at the UC Riverside Spring Track Classic with 4,522 points. Prevedello finished with All-SCIAC performances in the long jump and as a member of the 4x400m relay at the SCIAC Championships. This will be her debut appearance at the NCAA Championships. 

For each men's individual event contested, including the decathlon, the top 20 declared student-athletes were accepted into the competition. For each women's individual event contested, including the heptathlon, the top 22 declared student-athletes were accepted into the competition. For each relay event contested, the top 16 declared relay teams, one per institution, were accepted into the competition

Watch Live
Follow ULV Athletics on Twitter
Like us on Facebook
Watch on Youtube
Follow us on Instagram