Scharmann named to All-Nicklaus Team

Scharmann named to All-Nicklaus Team

NORMAN, Okla. — Kelby Scharmann of the University of La Verne men's golf team was named to the 2015 All-Nicklaus Team presented by Barbasol for his outstanding play during his final collegiate season.

The All-Nicklaus Team was created in 2008, and is not only named for history's greatest player but also a long-time supporter of collegiate and amateur golf. Jack Nicklaus, a Big Ten and NCAA Champion at The Ohio State University, helped inspire and create the Jack Nicklaus Awards in 1988. The Nicklaus Award is annually given to the top collegiate men's golfer in Divisions I, II, III, the NAIA and the NJCAA.

Scharmann won the 2015 NCAA Division III Men's Golf Individual Championship in May and was named the SCIAC Men's Golf Lee Fulmer Athlete of the Year. He never finished below 15th in any of La Verne's 10 tournaments this season and claimed at least a share of four medalist honors, including three outright. He averaged 71.81 strokes per round this season.

In addition to Scharmann, the All-Nicklaus team comprises Bryson Dechambeau of SMU, Dalton State's Sean Elliott, Santiago Gomez of Nova Southeastern, Lynn's Mateo Gomez, Gavin Green of New Mexico, Southern Nazarene's Michael Hearne, Beau Hossler of Texas, William Woods' David Houlding, Cory Howard of La Grange, South Mountain's Connor Klein, Anthony Maccaglia of Oglethorpe, Georgia's Lee McCoy, Stanford's Maverick McNealy, Grant Motter of Mississippi Gulf Coast, Washington's Cheng-Tsung Pan, Arizona State's Jon Rahm and Max Rottluff, Georgia Tech's Ollie Schniederjans, Robby Shelton of Alabama, Vanderbilt's Hunter Stewart, Kerry Sweeney of Eastern Florida State, Coastal Georgia's Alistair Tidcombe and Midland's David Wicks.

2015 All-Nicklaus Team presented by Barbasol

  • Bryson Dechambeau, SMU
  • Sean Elliott, Dalton State
  • Santiago Gomez, Nova Southeastern
  • Mateo Gomez, Lynn
  • Gavin Green, New Mexico
  • Michael Hearne, Southern Nazarene
  • Beau Hossler, Texas
  • David Houlding, William Woods
  • Cory Howard, La Grange
  • Connor Klein, South Mountain
  • Anthony Maccaglia, Oglethorpe
  • Lee McCoy, Georgia
  • Maverick McNealy, Stanford
  • Grant Motter, Mississippi Gulf Coast
  • Cheng-Tsung Pan, Washington
  • Jon Rahm, Arizona State
  • Max Rottluff, Arizona State
  • Kelby Scharmann, La Verne
  • Ollie Schniederjans, Georgia Tech
  • Robby Shelton, Alabama
  • Hunter Stewart, Vanderbilt
  • Kerry Sweeney, Eastern Florida State
  • Alistair Tidcombe, Coastal Georgia
  • David Wicks, Midland