Football lands four on All-SCIAC Teams

Football lands four on All-SCIAC Teams

PASADENA — Four La Verne football players were named to the 2014 All-SCIAC Teams as voted on by the head coaches of the conference.

Linebacker Anthony Arguello and wide receiver Jonathan Lilly were named to the first team. Running back Travis Sparks and safety Connor Truhitte secured spots on the second team.

This is Arguello's third All-SCIAC honor. The senior was named to the first team in 2012 and earned a spot on the second team last year. Arguello was third on the team in tackles (48) and in pass breakups (4). He also forced a fumble and recovered one.

Lilly, who came on last year as a junior, posted one of the best single-season by a receiver in La Verne history. The senior finished the season with 1,050 yards and 13 touchdowns on 50 receptions in just eight games and moved up to No. 2 all-time in career reception yards (1,855). Lilly finished fourth in the nation in receiving yards per game (131.3) and tied for 11th in receiving touchdowns despite playing at least two fewer games than everyone ahead of him.

Sparks had a breakout season after serving as La Verne all-time leading rusher Matthew Biggers' understudy for two years. The junior ended with 1,046 yards on the ground on whopping 8.0 yards per carry and scored seven touchdowns.

Truhitte led the team in tackles (69) and pass breakups (6). He also notched 1.5 tackles for loss and snagged one interception.

Quarterback Michael Lahey of Chapman was named the 2014 Offensive Athlete of the Year while linebacker Max Winsberg of Claremont-Mudd-Scripps was tabbed the Defensive Athlete of the Year.

Chapman's Bob Owens was named the SCIAC Coach of the Year.

2014 SCIAC All-Conference Teams

Kevin Russell QB Jr University of Redlands
Jeremiah McKibbins RB JR Chapman University
Aseal Birir RB FR Pomona-Pitzer Colleges
Samuel Stekol WR SR Occidental College
Jonathan Lilly WR SR University of La Verne
Blayr Jimmerson WR SR Chapman University
Hunter Peterson OL JR Chapman University
Grant Frazier OL JR Pomona-Pitzer Colleges
Chris Collodel OL SR Chapman University
Bryce Fryan OL SR Cal Lutheran University
Zachary Alford OL SR University of Redlands
Anthony Ezeakunne TE SR Chapman University
Paul Slaats DL SO Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Jordan Bixler DL SR University of Redlands
Alex Rorie DL JR Chapman University
Dallas Gosselin DL SR Occidental College
Garrett Frediani LB JR Chapman University
Michael Tootle LB SR University of Redlands
Trevor Phillips LB SR Whittier College
Anthony Arguello LB SR University of La Verne
Connor Larkin DB SO Chapman University
Connor Hoffman DB SO University of Redlands
Josh Pride DB SR Whittier College
Sean Davey DB SR Chapman University
Markus Trujillo K SR Chapman University
Jack McFarland P JR Cal Lutheran University
Nick Nasse                          SPT    JR     Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Nick Isham QB     JR     Cal Lutheran University
Bobby Brown RB SR University of Redlands
Travis Sparks-Jackson RB JR University of La Verne
Andrew Worthley WR JR Cal Lutheran University
James Ramirez WR SR University of Redlands
Tyler Stanek WR JR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Aaron Hinkle OL SR University of Redlands
Peter Clancy OL SR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Mason Marino OL SR University of Redlands
Jacob Speer OL JR Chapman University
Trey Connet OL SR Pomona-Pitzer
Connor Allen TE JR Cal Lutheran University
Brian Keyser DL SO University of Redlands
Connor Lambert DL JR Chapman University
Jack Rulon DL SO University of Redlands
Alex Chang DL SR Claremont-Mudd Scripps
Sam Layton LB SR Chapman University
Adam Goltche LB SR Occidental College
Ronny Camacho LB JR Cal Lutheran University
Mitch Shepherd LB FR University of Redlands
Stephen Reyes DB SR University of Redlands
Connor Truhitte DB SO University of La Verne
Teran Mawhinney DB SR Occidental College
Griffin Lazarus DB SO Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Sean Murray K JR University of Redlands
Tyler Stanek P JR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Devin Kelly SPT SO Chapman University