No. 15 Tennis Headed to National Championships

No. 15 Tennis Headed to National Championships

INDIANAPOLIS — The Leopards are headed to the national championships for the first time in school history.

On the heels of a finals run at the 2014 SCIAC Women's Tennis Championships, the No. 15 University of La Verne was selected for the NCAA Division III Championships on Monday by the Division III Women's Tennis Committee.

"I'm excited," La Verne head coach Yolanda Duron said. "The girls worked really hard for this and we are extremely thrilled to be playing in the championships for the first time."

The Leopards will even enjoy a first-round bye before taking on the winner of the match between No. 6 Pomona-Pitzer and UC Santa Cruz on May 9. La Verne beat UCSC, 8-1, in the season opener and beat Pomona-Pitzer, 7-2, in the semifinal of the SCIAC Championships after losing to the Sagehens, 6-3, in the regular season.


La Verne will go on with confidence and momentum on its side. In addition to the upset of the Sagehens, the Leopards gave national title contender and No. 5 Claremont-Mudd-Scripps a run for its money in the finals, splitting the singles portion in a narrow 5-4 loss.

La Verne finished the season 16-5 overall and 8-3 in conference play, with all losses having come against nationally ranked teams.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first, second and third rounds played at regional sites, Friday through Sunday, May 9-11 or Thursday through Saturday, May 8-10. Claremont-M-S will host the team championship finals, which will be held May 19-21 at Biszantz Family Tennis Center in Claremont, California. Student-athletes selected to the individual championships will be announced Wednesday, May 7.

The championships provide for a 50-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 39 conference champions, which form Pool A. Two teams are selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B). The remaining nine teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference's AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C). The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.

Follow La Verne Athletics @ULV_Athletics
Like La Verne Athletics on Facebook
Sign up for our newsletter