About The Program

Water Polo at the University La Verne began play during the 1998-99 academic year and has become a perennial power within a short period.  After a successful coaching stint of Tim Hugar who guided La Verne to numerous All-American and All-Conference accolates along with consistent national rankings, a new era begins under Pat Beemer.

The University of La Verne began competition in the fall of 1998 and earned the program's first Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) Championship two years later in 2000.  Several La Verne players have earned national recognition including a pair of Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) Division III National Player of the Year winners in Kenny Clements (2000) and Robert Casillas (2002).

Besides the SCIAC, the men's water polo teams compete against several of the nation's top programs including nationally-ranked Division I squads.